Who I Am

mug-shoot.png

I was born December 31, 1986 in Calgary, Alberta. As the oldest child of 6 kids, I had felt a lot of pressure to be that perfect role model for my siblings. I excelled in school, though I was homeschooled for all grades, except 8 and 12. At the end of grade 8, my parents bought a farm. That summer was spent moving and making the place livable. Life changed dramatically for us once we moved to the farm. The biggest change being the ultra-conservative christian church, where one of its many 'rules' was women had to wear skirts. I graduated in 2004, having convinced my parents to allow my last year to to be in public school. I found myself in a small school, with a graduating class of 21. Even though I had a public school graduation, the church also included me in theirs. Choosing a career path allowed by the church and my family, I attend LA (Lethbridge Alberta) School of Hair Design. It was there I met my would-be-husband's sister and later my husband, Kevin. We began dating in February 2006. Within a year of us dating, we had moved in together. I had quit being a hairdresser, and life was very strained with my family.

I began working for a bank in 2007. That eventually moved us from Lethbridge to Calgary. By that time, my family had also moved back to the city and we began building a fragile relationship. I loved working at the bank and was there for 7 years. With the security found in my job, Kevin began attending the University of Calgary in 2011. His degree would take 4 years. Halfway through his education, I switched positions again at the bank (it would be my fifth role within the bank). At first the new role was wonderful but, over time, changed into something I hated.

2014 was a big year for us. Starting it off with our 8th Anniversary and Kevin's proposal. Ended with quitting the bank. And planning our entire wedding in the last month of the year.

Our wedding was beautiful and exactly what we wanted.

My 2015 recap goes into the details of how the year went, but the gist of it is:

Kevin graduated and then got a job in Madison, Wisconsin. I am now a stay-at-home wife and it's a little weird. Things with my family have become strained again and I am no longer speaking to my parents.

This Post "Who I Am" was originally written for my "About Me" page, that has been updated.